Mary, Mary, Not Too Contrary

20130512-212215.jpg

The stately facade of the St Mary’s Cathedral. While it may not be the biggest church in Sydney, it certainly is the most dignified, even though it is a stone’s throw away from numerous high rise buildings in the Sydney CBD. Its location at the edge of The Domain (green open space) and Hyde Park also lends it a regal air.

Alas, its strict non-photography rule means interior shots are very very rare, although I didn’t let it stop me. I should feel ashamed.

9 thoughts

      • Didn’t see the link. Absolutely magnificent, even though you obviously could’t have had much time to compose. great colour and great sense of scale.

        I have images from two beautiful Armenain churches in The Light of the Gods and in A Very Good People if you are interested. Both in the alien-heartbeat.com/walking-armenia/ section. My photography doesn’t match yours (way way off), but the churches really are magnificent.

        One thing I do which helps a lot is that I use a sony nex-5n which fits in my pocket. so it aways stays hidden until I absolutely want to use it. I don’t like sony much but it is a good camera.

      • Apologies, I meant I didn’t see the link the first time. After reading your reply I checked again, and saw it. So when I wrote “Absolutely magnificent, even though you obviously could’t have had much time to compose” I was referring to the inside, with you trying to take a shot while Knight Templars were chasing you…

      • Unfortunately, the scenario was more Tom and Jerry rather than Indiana Jones and the Nazis. Comical with lots of skulking around and general paranoia.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.