Shopping Wonderland

DPP_2525.1_filtered2
An interior wide angle shot of the IFC mall in Shanghai. Like most Sun Hung Kai Properties mall, this one houses a number of ultra-luxe brands. Walking around such malls never fail to make me feel like a dirt poor and unrequited suitor- you know all the pretty things, but they will never deign to give you a second look.

Good thing it has an interesting interior design.

2 thoughts

  1. I see the recent development of Shanghai and I cannot understand how when communism faded in China it faded to such stark contrasts. I’m a firm believer in capitalism, but this duality between the ultra chic in Shanghai and the peasants in outer areas who have nothing is really thought-provoking.

    • I would say that capitalism there works specially only for the rich. The politburo and common citizen is still pretty living under communism. I still recall my surprise when I cabbed into the downtown area – old and disrepute buildings seemingly just gave way to swanky skyscrapers within a few blocks.

Leave a Reply

