Flights of Fantasy

JPEG Image (83056227)

The foyer of the Opera Theatre is one of the more dramatic locations within the Sydney Opera House. Wood, steel and glass come together to form a futuristic and yet timeless window to the city. I wonder about the purple carpets though. Very Elton John I thought.

Edit: The theme must have deciphered the name “Elton John” when deciding on the pink background color. My eyes!

10 thoughts

  1. This looks spectacular. I am Australian and I have never seen a better photo of the inside of the Opera House. You’ve given it great scale, and shown its details very well. It looks so much more modern – I can’t wait to get back there. Wide angle as I see 10mm – I will invest in one eventually 🙂

    • Yeah, it’s very hard to imagine this foyer was designed decades ago. I simply love the glass windows and metal beams. Sydney-siders have it good, with much easier access during ticketed events. The one hour tour is too brief!

      As for the 10mm- pretty much follows me wherever I go now. The only consideration is if you are gonna change your camera body in future.

  2. I actually like the pink theme, it accentuates the crossbars on the glass. I’ve been to Sydney about half-a-dozen times now, and can’t resist shooting the opera house each time, it’s so enthralling…Great shot.

  3. Pingback: Flights of Fantasy (Mono X Color) | A Certain Slant of Light Photography

Leave a Reply

