Gontran Cherrier’s Croissants

DPP_3006v2small

Mr. Gontran Cherrier’s croissants are a treat for the senses even before you devour them. Its many golden brown layers rise and fold in sensual, intricate swirls, almost like modern architecture. The buttery scent greets you next- warm, comforting, reminiscent of rainy days, plushy sofas, and a steaming cup of café au lait. When you finally bite into it, the pastry, crunchier than most, has a certain je ne sais quoi compared to other croissants I have found. Magnifique!

Locations:

[Gontran Cherrier Artisan Boulanger]
22 rue Caulaincourt 75018, Paris
8 rue Juliette Lamber 75017, Paris

[Tiong Bahru Bakery]
56 Eng Hoon St, #01-70, Singapore

11 thoughts

  1. OMG Zhang! I followed your blog some weeks ago, and have been loving your Sydney pics, but the first pic? For the love of all that is holy, no more pics of luscious carbs! Oh my waistline.

  2. Zhang, I would like to use this photo on my blog, as I’m featuring bloggers that I adore. May I, since I cannot find a photo of you on your site?

    Also, I’ve thought that you were male, and was going to feature you with four other male bloggers. Are you female? In which case I’ll feature you with the girls… 🙂

    Thanks!

      • I’m so glad that I figured out your gender! Not sure how, but I managed. 🙂
        And thanks for the permission. The blogpost should come out sometime Thurs or Fri.

        Xox, seriously love your blog!

        Oh, one other thing. Is your given name Zhang, or Wenjie? I’m a typical clueless North American, but I do know that Asian names are often opposite of European ones.

      • I like to think it’s because my posts radiate macho-ness. Heheh. I kid.

        Chinese names usually (not always) have a single syllable family name written in front of a two syllable given name. My first name is Wenjie 🙂 Other Asian names work differently, and I’m equally clueless about them!

  3. I thought that was the case, though I still want to call you Zhang. I could morph it with Japanese and say ‘Zhang-San’. Or morph it with English and call you Mr. Zhang.

    Just having some fun with you, Wenjie. 🙂 😀

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.