The Flower Dome

The Flower Dome is one of two conservatories found in the Gardens by the Bay. It is a climate-controlled, cavernous structure that replicates the Mediterranean climate. Within in, you will come across a variety of plants, flowers, succulents and even cacti from South Africa, California, Central Chile and Australia.

In terms of superlatives, the Flower Dome is the largest columnless greenhouse in the world, and the dome itself is constructed with over 3000 spectrally selective glass panels that only permits certain color spectrums to enter the conservatory. The exterior of the conservatory belies its sheer scope and audacity when you step into it- the interior would not look out of place in a sci-fi movie!

In the background of the image, you can see the three columns of the Marina Bay Sands hotels, as well as the super tree structures.

8 thoughts

      • oh you can’t imagine how much I envy you!
        I really love frangipani but they don’t grow in Northern Italy. 😦

      • You know – I never really used to pay attention to frangipani. Growing up, there are always Malay horror stories that associate frangipani with a vampire (they call it a pontianak). Bet that sounds unbelievable!

      • How can such a beautiful and heavenly scented flower can be related to a vampire? You’re right, it’s pretty unbelievable. O_O
        My first frangipani “experience” was in Australia and since then I’ve always related the scent of these flowers to one of my favourite places on Earth! For me, frangipani mean heaven. 😉

      • And to think I’ve only told you half of the stuff they’re associated with over here! Ha. I must admit I don’t pay much attention to them. I shall go closer the next time I come across one with low hanging flowers 🙂

      • Now I’m curious to know about this other “stuff” they’re associated with…..
        Anyway, I’m looking forward to see one of your nice picture with frangipani as main subject! 🙂

Leave a Reply

